Building Information Modeling (BIM)

The proliferation of advanced technologies in Building Information Modeling (BIM) is becoming one of the most important trends in the construction industry. In particular, the transition from planning and communication processes based on legacy 2D construction plans to versatile 3D-enabled BIM is expected to improve the efficiency and quality of construction work significantly in the coming years. The German Association of Computing in Civil Engineering together with the associated university research groups and chairs support these efforts in research and teaching wholeheartedly along with the participation in national and European standardization bodies.

Building Information Model

A digital model of a building structure that includes geometric and semantic information relevant to all building components, assemblies and spaces along with their relationships. The information contained in the model should be valid for the entire life cycle of the building structure and available in an object-oriented form.

Building Information Modeling

Processes for the specification of a building information model and its application, management and adaptation for the duration of the entire life cycle.

BIM education at Universities

With this document, the German Association of Computing in Civil Engineering defines the teaching contents in Building Information Modeling to be taught at universities in the frame of study programs in Architecture, Engineering, and Construction (AEC). The document defines basic knowledge as well as advanced knowledge in the field. There is no specification with respect to the extent of the curriculum due to the large heterogeneity of the study programs at the different universities.

The objective of BIM education at universities is to inseminate methodological knowledge that enables graduates to introduce, develop, manage and monitor BIM processes in AEC enterprises and public agencies. To this end, a deep understanding of BIM methods and technology is mandatory. Accordingly, the focus of BIM education at universities is on teaching general principles and technological foundations which are independent from concrete software products and remain valid over a long period of time. The theoretical contents are complemented by practical exercises using up-to-date software products.

In the following list, contents are coloured black which should be included in the curriculum of any basic AEC study program at the university level. Contents that are printed in green represent advanced aspects which enable graduates to become BIM Managers or BIM Coordinators and which are typically taught in special courses in master programmes.

Basic BIM knowledge (+ advanced knowledge)

By educating BIM on the basis of these contents, the graduates gain the following competencies:

Building Information Modeling (BIM)

Die Verbreitung von Technologien des Building Information Modeling ist einer der wichtigsten Trends im Bauwesen, der in den nächsten Jahren die bislang weitgehend auf 2D-Plänen beruhenden Planungs- und Kommunikationsprozesse des Bauwesens verändern wird. Es ist zu erwarten, dass damit eine deutliche Effizienz- und Qualitätssteigerung bei der Planung und Ausführung von Bauwerken einhergehen wird. Der AK Bauinformatik und die darin vertretenen Lehrstühle unterstützen diesen Prozess in Forschung und Lehre sowie durch Mitwirkung in den nationalen und europäischen Standardisierungsgremien.

Building Information Model

Digitales Modell eines Bauwerks, das geometrische und semantische Informationen zu allen relevanten Bauobjekten, wie z.B. Bauteile, Baugruppen oder Räume, und deren Beziehungen für die Nutzung im Rahmen des gesamten Lebenszyklus in objektorientierter Form zur Verfügung stellt.

Building Information Modeling

Prozesse zur Spezifikation eines Building Information Models und seine Verwendung, Verwaltung und Adaption im Rahmen des gesamten Lebenszyklus.

BIM in der universitären Lehre für das Fachgebiet Bauinformatik

Hiermit definiert der AK Bauinformatik die wichtigsten Lehrinhalte zur Ausbildung von Kompetenzen im Bereich Building Information Modeling, die an den Universitäten in den Studiengängen des Bauwesens im Fachgebiet Bauinformatik gelehrt werden sollten. Dabei werden sowohl grundlegende Inhalte als auch erweiterte Inhalte festgelegt. Es erfolgt keine Festlegung hinsichtlich des zu vermittelnden Umfangs, da dies infolge der Heterogenität der Studiengänge an den verschiedenen Standorten nicht als zielführend angesehen wird.

Ziel der universitären Ausbildung ist die Vermittlung von methodischen Kenntnissen, die die Absolventen in die Lage versetzen, BIM-Prozesse in Unternehmen und öffentlichen Institutionen einzuführen, zu gestalten, zu überwachen und weiterzuentwickeln. Hierfür ist ein vertieftes Verständnis der zugrundeliegenden Methoden und Technologien unabdingbar. Der Fokus der universitären Lehre für das Fachgebiet Bauinformatik liegt dabei auf der Vermittlung allgemeingültiger Prinzipien und Techniken, die unabhängig von konkreten Softwareprodukten sind und Gültigkeit über einen Zeitraum von mehreren Jahrzehnten haben. Die vermittelten theoretischen Inhalte werden durch praktische Übungen mit aktuellen Softwareprodukten ergänzt.

In der folgenden Auflistung sind diejenigen Inhalte für das Fachgebiet Bauinformatik dargestellten, zu denen jede/r AbsolventIn eines grundständigen Studiengangs im Bauwesen Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten haben sollte. Die grün markierten Aspekte adressieren vertiefte Spezialkenntnisse, welche die Studierenden zum Berufsbild des „BIM Manager“ bzw. „BIM Coordinator“ befähigen und üblicherweise in entsprechenden Vertiefungsrichtungen in den Masterstudiengängen vermittelt werden.

Grundlegende Kenntnisse BIM (+ vertiefte Kenntnisse)

Durch die Vermittlung dieser Inhalte erlangen Absolventen folgende Kompetenzen: